2 July 2011 – Boat Ride

 

I wanted a boat ride on the Volta River. It seemed like a 4th of July weekend kind of thing to do. The Dodi Princess left out of Akosombo but I had mixed reviews on the experience. The trip was 6 hours long and the boat would stop on an island for 1 hour. A BBQ lunch was provided. This sounded like a perfect way to spend a day. Then I read my guide book and it said that the music was obnoxiously loud. Then a PCV and a German volunteer said the same thing. Well I could stay on campus and hear obnoxiously loud music for free! I didn’t need to pay 30 cedis for it.

 

My second plan was to hire a local canoe. The taxi driver tried to talk me into the Dodi Princess and so did a receptionist at the Adomi Hotel when I went to ask if they had a boat. So I decided to go to Aylos Bay Resort. Have breakfast and ask them if they had any boat rides on the Volta.

 

I struck gold.

 

The breakfast was good and the environment lovely. It was so lovely that after my boat ride I stayed, wrote and had a coke. And they had a canoe and someone to paddle it for me all for 10 GHC.

 

Check out a few pics from that trip.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

-vc

