2 July 2011 – Hawkers

People selling things off their head have been a continual joy to me from the day we arrived in Ghana. I love it that I can buy frozen yogurt, boiled eggs, water sachets, bowfruit, minerals, toilet paper and even a flash light out of the window of my tro tro. When traveling through Kumasi to the Sub office I always buy plantain chips a one specific intersection and spring rolls at the next one.

 

Atimpoku, being a major crossroads, has plenty of hawkers. Their wares are a little bit different because of the river. You can buy a kebab of oysters or snails and onions. You can buy a sleeve of prawns. And my favorite Bolo.

 

 

Bolo is a white corn cake cooked in a leaf the size of two hands. The batter is put on one half of the leaf then the leaf is folded over. Many leaves are put in a pot to steam. Oh the bolo is so sweet.

 

-vc

