5 November 2010 – Visit to the village

Today on BBC the business show did a story on Rwanda. The Rwandan government has started to lay fiber optic cable all over Rwanda. The government, with out any foreign aid, has hired a Korean firm to lay the cable and assist in moving the country to a knowledge based economy.

The Minister of ICT had a good grasp of what ICT(Information and Communications Technology) could do for the country. He gave examples of uses in schools, international trade and banking. I was impressed with his knowledge and the pratical applications he saw for his country. I wonder if Rwanda had a Peace Corps program?

I have been sick with a stomach bug for the past few days and have not left the house for three days. Today I just needed to get out. I decided to go to the provision store across  from the school gate. I wanted sugar, sickele in Twi, and maybe some crackers.

A man was sitting on the bench, his lanky legs were folded up against his chest and his arms wrapped around them. He greeted me and we exchanged names. His is Seth. Seth is leggy and lean;he looked about my age. We chatted for 10 minutes. He invited me back to talk again sometime. He won my heart because he didn’t ask me to marry him and take him to America!

Veronica came to the store. I met her one day when I was taking a taxi down the 3 mile dirt road back to BASCO and offered her a ride. The store keeper asked her if she had onions and she left and brought me three. When I offered to pay her she refused! She then asked me to come greet her parents. She held my had as we walked over the eroded ground. When we got to her house not only was her mother there but also her father, two uncles and her junior sister. I greeted them and we chatted for about 5 minutes then Veronica offered to walk me back home.

One of my goals here in Trotor is to get to know some people in the village. Today was a good beginning.

2 Comments

  1. Robin Santiago said,

    November 26, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Dear Vicky,
    how you were doing. Found your blog and I am now ready to do the banana energizer. I can still feel your positive energy. Hope your mission is successful. Keep smiling!

    Robin Santiago

    • Vicky said,

      December 16, 2010 at 12:33 pm

      Robin,
      How great to hear from you. I think of you often here because I see the tooth sticks everywhere. Women sell them in bundles of 10 or 20 from the tops of their heads. Many Ghanaians I know use the sticks and brush their teeth. They usually use the sticks if they are away from home.
      Keep smilin’ too!


