25 February 2010 – eeeewwwwww!

So I have had an itchy arm for about three months.  No rash but maddenly itchy. oh boy. I saw my Peace Corps doctor in January and we decided to wait a bit. So this week, sports week at my school, I decided to go to Accra to see a dermatologists for this weird itchy arm.

To make a long story short I have, she thinks,  worms in my arms. It’s a parasite and the beginning stage is this itching. The worm dies and it’s skeleton causes my arm to itch,with no visible rash.

The worst is blindness but that takes years so on Friday, tomorrow or Monday I will have the lab results and then take one pill to cure it.

One big EEEEWWWWWWW! and another YUCK!

-vc

Read more about it but don’t freak out cause none of that will happen to me.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Onchocerciasis

1 Comment

  1. Cassie said,

    March 1, 2010 at 9:32 am

    “A study of 2501 people in Ghana showed that the prevalence rate doubled between 2000 and 2005 despite treatment, suggesting that the parasite is developing resistance to the drug”

    -this does not comfort me aunt v. i say you should just come back here. 🙂


