21 May 2009 TOT

(Sorry this one is so late. It got lost in another notebook!)

 TOT – here’s another PC TLA. Translation: Training of Trainers here’s another Peace Corps three letter acronym. This week I have been back at the PC training site in Kukurantumi. I and 26 oter PCVx, 30 LCFs and 10 Tfs have been training and planning for the next PST (Pre service Training).

 Things here are the same and things here are different.

 Many of the people who trained my group are back. Grace, the training director, is here. I have always admired Grace. Ghana’s gender roles are where our gender roles were in the 1950s. Grace manages to lead men and women with gently strength. My language teacher, Agatha is here. We are hoping we will be posted to the same community. Joe my favorite drive is working for training again. Auntie Dora is cooking for us. Richard, Salia, Esther K, Uncle Sam… it’s good to see them all.

 And there are many new faces among the trainers. Gladys, a new language trainer, always has a smile on her face. Changeman  and Godfrey are  the Upper East, Navrongo to be exact. Millie, another new language teacher, is a compact bundle of joy.

 Five people from my training group are here as PCVRFs (Peace Corps Volunteer Resource Facilitators) Diana, Matt, Grant, Stephan and Brian. But it’s different because not only are there teaching PCVRFs but this year there are also omnibus PCVRFS. This year the training is combined.

 Training is the same because we will be training education volunteers but it will be different too because we will also be training omnibus volunteers. This year Peace Corps Ghana decided to combine training sessions. Last year the education volunteers came in June; trained for three months. Then the omnibus volunteers came in Sept and trained for three months. PC Ghana thinks it will save money by combining PSTs.

 The hub site is comfortable and familiar. Not only was I here for my PST but also come for  my In Service Training. The sofa in front of the TV reminds me of Jennifer and I sitting there the last two weeks of training with or boils, the boilin sisters. The wind in the summer hut whispers the lost words all those long tedious sessions I had to sit through. And when I am under the dining shelter I can hear the laughs of many meals and card games.

 Oh but is is different because it’s no longer the place I know best in Ghana. I have traveled far away and learned so much since my days as a trainee.  I hope to be able to share those experiences with the new volunteers.

 -vc

