7 April 2009 – Lonely, oh

This afternoon I was feeling lonely, oh. It doesn’t happen often in fact I am surprised at how infrequently I get lonely. Maybe because the students are leaving for Easter vacation. Maybe because I have been away from home for almost a year. Or maybe just because it’s a full moon. Whatever the reason I was lonely.

Then about four pm Portia and Rofina came over to make me light soup. As I finished marking 2B2s exams they cooked. “Portia you are a lazy girl!” stated Rofina. “Tenni can go to the store I don’t have to.” countered Portia. “Is this enough peppe.” “Madam doesn’t like too much peppe.” “I am going to Accra to visit my sister.” “I will go to Wa”. “Madam make her stop” As the aroma of the light soup filled the house, the babble of two teenage girls about to go on vacation from school also filled the house.

I finished with the 2B2 exams and walked into the kitchen. The coal pot was in front of the door. Pots were cooking away on both burners of the gas stove. Portia was grinding tomatoes in the grinding bowl. Rofina was clearly in charge, tasting one pot, stirring another. She asked if I had a sieve. When I said no she sent me to the neighbors to get one.

When I returned I quizzed them about how to make the light soup. I should have written it down because now I do not remember all the steps. I am sure there will be a next time. As preparations continued I returned to my hall to start on another group of exams.

Ten minutes later Portia comes into the hall. I am tired of marking papers so we begin to play with the video camera on my computer. Rofina yells “Get in here you lazy girl! The poultry needs to be cut.”

“I’m recording a video” brags Portia.

“Let me see!” exclaims Rofina

Rofina comes into the hall. She begins to sing with Portia who pushes her away.

Thus the light soup was forgotten for 30 minutes while the girls made videos.

My house was filled with music, laughter, food and fun. I was lonely, oh no more.

7 April 2009 – Lonely, oh

This afternoon I was feeling lonely, oh. It doesn’t happen often in fact I am surprised at how infrequently I get lonely. Maybe because the students are leaving for Easter vacation. Maybe because I have been away from home for almost a year. Or maybe just because it’s a full moon. Whatever the reason I was lonely.

Then about four pm Portia and Rofina came over to make me light soup. As I finished marking 2B2s exams they cooked. “Portia you are a lazy girl!” stated Rofina. “Tenni can go to the store I don’t have to.” countered Portia. “Is this enough peppe.” “Madam doesn’t like too much peppe.” “I am going to Accra to visit my sister.” “I will go to Wa”. “Madam make her stop” As the aroma of the light soup filled the house, the babble of two teenage girls about to go on vacation from school also filled the house.

I finished with the 2B2 exams and walked into the kitchen. The coal pot was in front of the door. Pots were cooking away on both burners of the gas stove. Portia was grinding tomatoes in the grinding bowl. Rofina was clearly in charge, tasting one pot, stirring another. She asked if I had a sieve. When I said no she sent me to the neighbors to get one.

When I returned I quizzed them about how to make the light soup. I should have written it down because now I do not remember all the steps. I am sure there will be a next time. As preparations continued I returned to my hall to start on another group of exams.

Ten minutes later Portia comes into the hall. I am tired of marking papers so we begin to play with the video camera on my computer. Rofina yells “Get in here you lazy girl! The poultry needs to be cut.”

“I’m recording a video” brags Portia.

“Let me see!” exclaims Rofina

Rofina comes into the hall. She begins to sing with Portia who pushes her away.

Thus the light soup was forgotten for 30 minutes while the girls made videos.

My house was filled with music, laughter, food and fun. I was lonely, oh no more.

