5 December 2008 Old Friends

Who would have thought thtat reuniting with someone you just met six months ago would beel like meeting old friends.  On Wednedsay Megan and Serena arrived at the KSO. I hear Megan’s “Vicky’s Here!” and the joy in my heart match the joy in her voice. We all hugged and laughed and hugged again.

 I didn’t know how much I missed them personally and individually. Megan who is brave and strong enough to speak her mind. Serena who’s heart is so full of compassion she can’t work long enough or hard enough to share it all. We sat around the KSO kitchen and caught up.

 I also didn’t know how much I missed Americans! They know what my “There’s no place like Ghana” t-shirt means with out a long drawn out explaination. They know baseball. We have experienced the same American frustrations at the  problems we are facing in Ghana. They know “Ya da ya da ya da” comes from Sienfeld.

 They were planning to go to Suhyen on Thursday. My plans were to stay at the KSO on Thursday and go to the conference on Friday. I said I would think about going. I did want to visit my homestay family. I thought I could stay at the KSO for some R&R on the way back.

 I was leaning toward going. We were playing card with some of the PCVs who had just done training for the Omnibus group. They said swearing in was on Friday after the conference. My heart lept again. Maybe Agatha was still in the Kukurantumi area! Too late to text her tonight but I knew I was going  even on the slightest chance of seeing her.

 Next morning we three went to the market in Kumasi. A good all around girl time.

Somehow we ended up in the section of cobblers. Shoe makers not fruit cobblers. (DRATS) Each shop had a handful of workers. They were cutting, and stitching leather for sandals and shoes. We also heard the tinsmiths in the story building pounding out kitchen pots and utensils. The bright colors of the fruits and  veggies contrasted with the grey of the bare wooden buildings.

 It was good to have companions for the outting. When I wanted an opinon on these earrings or that hat. Or when for the 5th time some male yelled to Serena “I want you”. I could shout back “Well you cant have her!” In my most motherly protective yell. We sat together in an air conditions bank waiting for Megan’s money transfer.We shuffled into tros together.

 A trip back to the KSO for our stuff. And on to the Accra Kumasi road to catch a tro to Suhyen. On the ride I texted Agatha. She said text when I get to Suhyen. After changing tros a record 4 times we made it to Zongo junction at Suhyen. We were half way to Aunti Dora’s(Sara’s homestay) when we were greeted by the children. They took my bags. When we arrived at Auntie Dora’s we were greeted with hugs and kisses all around.

 We left soon because we knew that everyone would hear of our arrival so we wanted to get to each of our homestays before too long. As we left Auntie Dora’s there was a parade with Megan, Serena and I in the lead and a gaggle of giggling Ghanaian children following. People greeted us and shouted akwaba as we walke down the street to my homestay. I loved it ham that I am.

 We turned at the spot and before we reached the second turn to my old neighborhood children were running to greet me. Then I took on last turn into the courtyard. Everyone was there! Auntie Vic Aunti Vic pretty soon I was surrounded by hellos and akwabas and we missed you’s. More hugging and kissing. And of course everyone prompted me to say “Mahoya paaaaaaa” With my hands raised in the air. I cried. What did I do to recieve such a reception? These people are special. They have opened their hearts to me and will not close them.

 Something was missing. MY SISITERS. Even with all the commotion they had not come out to see what was going on. I asked for them. Everyone said they had traveled. I guess to vote. In Ghana there is a lot of traveling during election times becuase you don’t have to vote where you currently reside but can register to vote in any town.

 I called Agatha as we walked to Megan’s house.

 Since my sisters were away we headed to Megans. The reception was the same. People running to greet Megan and Serena. Taking their bags. They were paraded to Megan’s homestay. After the greetings we were sitting and talking. One little girl got the saddest look on her face and said “Oh Megan don’t go!”

 I know what Megan did to get that reaction. She loved those kids. She colored with them. Video taped their games and songs. She encouraged their creativity. Megan was a great big sister.

 We went to greet other homestay parents. Walking down main street again I greeted some of my favorite market ladies. One gave me two oranges. They have so little but are willing to share so much. When does the balance tip from sharing your small  small possessions to hoarding your piles of stuff?

 The call came from Agatha that she was at Zongo junction. I borrowed a small child to lead me back to the main road. I saw a tall, graceful woman pass as I neared the road. I was dusk and I was not sure it was Agatha. When I reache d the road I looked in the direction of the woman. IT WAS AGATHA!

 I yelled AGATHA! No response I yelled again AGATHA! She turned and we both started running! So much more hugging and kissing! And a long tight hug. There are some people in the world that regardless of culture, age, religion your spirit speaks to. Agatha’s spirit speaks to mine.

 As we were walking back to Megan’s  Agatha asked me if there was enough room for me. I said we had one mattress for the three of us. (I was hoping she could take me back to her place in Old Tafo) She said stay with me. Yes!

 There was much good talk and good food! Now I remember that I do have a reason to go to Accra again. Agatha lives in Accra!

 What a home coming!

-vc

