TV 20 October 2008

For the first time since I have been in Africa I wanted to watch TV tonight. Even during the Olympics I did not care if I saw them or not. But I had such a busy weekend and was so busy today I just wanted to veg in front of the TV and watch something. Preferably something mindless!

I am taking photos of the Form 3s (seniors) to put into their electronic WAASCE file. The WAASCE is comparable to the SAT only it’s for all of West Africa not just one country.  I also judged a debate on Sunday and had two classes this weekend. So for my sanity no more weekend classes.

I am just a sucker for the kids. They want to use the computers so badly. The Form 3s (seniors) don’t even have ICT so I have agreed to one class a week with two of the five. I am sure the others will follow soon.

Last night at 7:30 all the computers were off. I was hungry and tired because I had been at the debate most of the afternoon. When I was closing the windows in the lab one boy turned on the computer again. I turned around when I heard the start up music and I said quite firmly “You are turning on a computer! Didn’t you just hear me say don’t mess with a 50 year old who’s tired and hungry?!” Everyone else laughed then he said sheepishly “At least you know I know how to boot it up!” Even I laughed!

So tonight I wanted to veg out infront of the boob tube.

-vc

