At the KSO – 20 Aug 2008 – 24 Aug 2008

 

Today and for a few days I am at the KSO in transit from training to my site. I have a boil on my left butt cheek and traveling is not much fun at all so the PCMO said I could rest here for a few days. I’ll describe the KSO.  It is a walled gated home. That is not so unusual in Ghana. The middle class and upper class all have walled and gated homes and even the lower class their homes are around a central courtyard with a locked gate into the central courtyard. Still it feels a little elite.  The grounds are beautiful. I am sitting in a screened gazebo. There is a cool breeze coming in and birds are singing. There are lizards running around and the larger ones are doing their spontaneous push ups, a quick check of all parimeters then run off routine. I have even seen a couple of butterflies. There are concrete paths through a somewhat grassy lawn. It’s the rainy season. I assume there is no lawn during the dry season. The trees are big and shady. Someday I will know their names, I hope.

 

You enter the house through a large screened porch. The porch has a sofa and many chairs. then you enter the main house and there is a suken part to the livingroom. The very large sectional sofa is there as well as the dining table. The kitchen has two refridgerators. One freezer is filled with ice cubes. oh baby yes ice cubes! I have been drinking ice cold water for two days now. There is also a stove with an oven and a sink with running water. Mike the PCVL*, has his own room and bathroom.  We have two rooms to share. I am in the sickbay. Where is Mr. Spock when I need him?  It has two large double beds and then there are mats that people can spread around. I slept on a mat last night with two people in the beds and three people on the floor.  There is no air conditioning in the sickbay which is why  I like it. Air conditioning bothers me more now than it did in the states. And the best of all we have two bathrooms and two count them two showers. real live showers.

 

Mike, the PCVL, is very laid back. He makes everyone feel welcome when they arrive and then pretty much leaves us alone. But somehow in his laid back style he manages to run a tight ship. It’s quiet at night and the place is pretty clean. The place is very restful. It is a nice break between training and moving to site.

 

-vc

