Vision Quest Travel 12 Jun 08

Accra Day 2 – Thursday -12 Jun 08

 

Today I found out how grouchy and tired I was yesterday by the contrast in my mood.  I must have been exhausted on Wednedsay.  Today we met the different PC Staff members and learned all about what they do.  PC hires may local people to staff the offices. The APCDs of ecducation have worked in the Ghana education system for years and bring those skills and knowledge to the PC.

 

We also talked about our two quests. Accra quest on Friday and Vision quest Saturday through wednesday next week.  Friday we go out in groups of three to explore Accra and use a tro tro.  Tro tro’s are minibusses.  They travel within cities and between cities.  On Accra quest each gropu is given three things to do or places to visit and we must get there on our own. I am psyched. I want to by the Ghana equavilent of Ice Cream,  a 2 yard piece of cloth and another hankie as well as my vision quest assignments.

 

I will be going to the north region for vision quest.  Find the Mole Game Preserve,on a map near Tamale, and I will be somewhere near there. Most people will go on vision quest on their own but I get to go with Andrew, another PCT. I am excited to go to the north because if I am not stationed up there I may not get up there again.  Ghana may be the size of Oregon but travel time is as if it’s the size of Texas.   Vision quest is for us to see a PCV at home, at work and at play. We will have some specific tasks to complete while there. 

 

Today was a much better day. I had more patience. I wasn’t dead tired.  I absorbed much more of the information that was presented.

 

I had a nice talk at supper with Grace, our training manager, and Rachael a PCV who is helping with training. We discussed about building relationships in Ghana and how the greetings in Ghana are part of that relationship building.  We also discussed the role of women in Ghana and America.  Grace Ghanaian, Rachael has lived here a year and I am brand new to this culture. I learned so much. I will share more maybe a blog entry or two on the role of women but my battery is dying so I’d better bring this to a close!

 

I head to bed toniht with much more optomism, hope and courage than last night but still as I finish this time reflecting on my first few days in Ghana i still say

 

ah glorious bed!

 

-vc

 

 

