Departure Day

Up bright and early this morning to have breakfast and to head to the clinic for 7:00 am.  I had breakfast with Lenore and she worked in the Library of Congress as a staff person.  One of her co-workers had served in the PC in Ghana! small world.

Yellow fever shot today.  Malaria regiment began today.  Many more shots to come.

Check out at 11:00 a.m.

Free for lunch until the bus for Newark arrives at 1:00 p.m.  Someone asked Kate how long the bus ride to Newark was she said 2.5 to 5 hours! GREAT!!!

Then we fly out to Amsterdam at 6:30 p.m.

I have already started asking people about games for the plane. It’s going to be a long ride!

Ghana country director Bob Gollage(SP) is a hugh RED SOX FAN!!! Josh Red Sox nation is everywhere.  Sorry Helen.

Reflections:

I am over my butterflies and minor anxieties and back to my confident optimistic self!

Off to get a Dr. Pepper!

-vc

1 Comment

  1. Kat said,

    June 9, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    I read all of your reflections, your anxieties and worries and am taken back to the day we left Philadelphia for Accra. I too was nervous but far more excited that we were finally going. The chartered plane was raucous, filled as it was with volunteers. We stopped for fuel in Madrid and got off to stretch our legs. Next I remember running to the windows to see the Sahara stretched out below us. After a sleepless night, we arrived in Ghana, walked out of the door and was hit with a blast of hot air which made us gasp for breath. An oom pah band played and we were given Fanta, warm of course, to welcome us. We boarded buses for our trip to Winneba. I remember the kiosks along the road, the colors and the smell. You will be amazed!


