The Palace

Castle on a hill in PA

My brother Dennis and my sister-in-law Mel made me feel like a Princess.Den and Mel The royal treatment started in the morning when they turned on NPR’s Morning Edition for me and ended with caring phone call when I arrived in Utah at my brother Jack’s.

We visited two Carnegie libraries in Pittsburgh. Mel and I had Ethiopian food. Den joined us for a visit to the science museum and lunch on Mount Washington. During lunch we saw people sky diving into PNC baseball stadium. The view of Pittsburgh was beautiful. Three rivers meet in downtown Pittsburgh. Please don’t ask me the names of the two besides the Ohio. Pittsburgh rivers are segmented with many bridges and quite a few of them are bright yellow! I think that will be one of my lasting impressions of Pittsburgh.

My last day Mel and I went to a play and to the Cathedral of learning.  The Cathedral of Learning has 25+ classrooms built by different nationalities that immigrated to Pittsburgh.  I loved the African room.  The French room was ornate and beautiful but the Dutch room was all wood and very homelike and cozy.  It would be very fun to have classes about a specific nation in that nation’s room.  The great hall was filled with oak chairs and tables of all shapes and sizes.

Den and Mel made me feel so at home. I was well loved, entertained and cared for – just like a princess. Being made to fell welcome and a part of the family does not depend on the size of the house but the size of the hearts in the house.

-vc

