I Do Not Cry in Public.

I do not cry in public.

I do not cry in public.

I do not cry in public.

I do not cry in public.

The favorite parts of my job were taken away from me over the past four years and many of my daily tasks were routine and boring but as my investment in the daily grind of the job lessened my connection with my co-workers deepened. This is a truth that I think will be reinforced over and over in my journey with the Peace Corps. More than the food, more than the movies, more than the easy access to book, EVEN MORE THAN INDOOR PLUMBING when I am in Ghana I will miss the people I love. To misquote a campaign slogan of an earlier Clinton Presidential candidate “It’s the PEOPLE, stupid!”.

I do not cry in public.

I do not cry in public.

I do not cry in public

I do not cry in public.

-vc

3 Comments

  1. LOUISE said,

    May 2, 2008 at 6:16 am

    Oh, Vicki, don’t even think about the people you will miss when you leave Ghana!! It is good your heart is so big you can carry all your US friends with you and have email….

  2. Vicky said,

    May 2, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Oh I can’t think about leaving the people I will meet in Ghana yet! I KNOW I will see my US friends again but I can’t think about leaving people in Ghana who I may not see again.

  3. Danielle said,

    May 6, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    Tears are not so bad, they show you how strong your connection is! Luck to you in making new friends and one day reuniting with these ones!


