A Thought

wagontrain.jpg

Talking to family and friends made me think more about why I want to be a part of the Peace Corps. I thought heck they are children or grandchildren of immigrants. I would probably immigrate to America 100 years ago or have gone west in the 1800s. They left what was familiar. They left family and friends. I understand that thinking. It’s not only about improving the quality of your life. It’s also about facing a challenge. I would also do it for the chance to experience a new place. I think the immigrants or the people who settled the west had to be pretty optimistic. They had to believe in the future. They had to believe in themselves and the people with them. And of course they were looking for a better life but without the other desires and qualities they probably would not have crossed a sea or a continent to find it.

-vc

