The Goodbye Tour

Finally made my plans for the trip to visit my family and friends.

The train did not cooperate on many levels. The part that really got my dander up is that someone from out of the USA could get an Amerapass for about 1/2 the price of a peak North American Rail Pass that Americans and Canadians have to buy. Why does it cost more for ME to ride the train than a tourist?

Second part was that I had to go to Canada. OK so I might like to go to Canada but not for this trip.

Third and this was the clincher. I would have to pay full Peak Fare if I traveled even one day after May 22nd since I am leaving my Job on May 2nd. I really wouldn’t give me much time.

So I surfed the travel sites for plane fares. As I was surfing and getting more and more depressed, the prices were outrageous, I remembered Southwest does great one-way fares. They also don’t participate in online travel sites. So I surfed on over to Southwest.com and SHAZZZAM! They were having a sale and I got a better deal than the train and will have much more time to spend with family and friends.

I am going to Pittsburgh. The birthplace of the world’s greatest living author – Stewart O’Nan. Hope I don’t get arrested laying flowers on the doorstep of his childhood home. Oh yes my youngest brother Dennis and his wife Melanie also live there.

Then on to Salt Lake City to the Sevison clan. My brother Jack, his wife Bette, Teresa and Erica his daughters, Jay and Alan his son’s and too many grandchildren to even count.

The to Houston to see my Beth.

I’ll be back the last weekend of may and off to see my mom one last time.

Planning this trip makes me realize I am really leaving the US and going to live in Ghana. OH BOY! Is there a word for terror, excitement, anxiety, sadness and joy all wrapped up in one?

-vc

2 Comments

  1. pafa said,

    March 23, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    “a word for terror, excitement, anxiety, sadness and joy all wrapped up in one?” I love the idea of a word for all those feelings. Wonder if some other language has one?

  2. LOUISE said,

    March 24, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Vicky-
    Just finished the most fascinating read by a Swiss woman, who, in 1988 married a Masai she fell in love with when visiting Kenya with her German fiance!.. Having been in a Masai village….. well… just read it!!


