Twi

Oh boy this language learning thing is going to be tough. I am enlisting the help of everyone I know. I go to work and tell them the word of the day. Told Fiya how to say NO. dabi and usually it’s repeated at least twice. dabi, dabi. Bet grandpa is gonna love that! But the French comes before the Twi does. and I can’t remember the words after walking from the car to the library entrance! is orange ankaaaa or anaaa. I can remember pei (sound like peeeeee with low tones on the vowel) is very much or a lot only cause I pee a lot! bon jour, dabi dabi dabi that is not twi it’s french for good day. is mayde or meti eat. is anya yes or annnaaaa? and how do you say nnum? is the n really pronounced both times? and how will i even make the ng sound as subtly as the native speakers do? and the numbers I can’t hang my hat on anything to make me remember them bianko is one, nan is 4, or is it nnum? du is 10.

Yes I am stressing out.

-vc

3 Comments

  1. Sara said,

    March 12, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    I have to admit, I haven’t spent too much time in language learning at all. Are you only using the twi audio lessons (from the “Toolkit” page), or something else? As for the French… I’m scared to even look at that. I’ve never had any French exposure in my life, so it’s all a completely foreign (har) concept. Curious to know how it’s all coming for you, though!

  2. Vicky said,

    March 13, 2008 at 2:44 am

    Using my super librarian powers I leaped tall buildings and reached across the miles to borrow a pimseleur (sp for sure) cd. And I listened to the first couple of lessons from the “Toolkit” .

    I’m not learning French for Ghana. I have French in the deep recesses of my brain from High School looooong looooong ago. So when I am looking for a word in Twi for some reason the French sometimes pops out.

    I am really not an overachiever, well yes I am, but the real reason I am exposing myself to Twi this early is because everyone says language will be hard for me. The older you are the harder it is to learn a new language.

  3. Sara said,

    March 15, 2008 at 12:24 am

    Aha! Gotcha. I understand that completely; when I was in China I would have random Spanish or Farsi words (words I hadn’t thought about in years) pop out instead of the Chinese I was trying to learn. At least you have some French, so you can travel around to Burkina Faso, etc, and amaze the locals with your language abilities.

    I’m envious of your librarian super powers — Pimsleur (or however you spell it) is awesome. I’ve been trying to find the Twi lessons for cheap, no luck so far. Guess I should hit up my local super librarians and see what they can do.


