Accumluating stuff!

So I sell some things and accumulate more stuff!

Today I bought the Eee PC by ASUS.   It’s a Linux box. I still want to stay away from Microsoft if at all possible. It’s also small like the XO and portable. I will have three months to run it through it’s paces before I leave. Hopefully this one will do it for me.

I also bought new glasses online for my backup pair. 3 weeks for these.  They will be fine. I bought them from a company called Zenni Optical they are only for back up and since I haven’t (knock on wood) broken my glasses since I was 10 I guess going this way is not a bad idea.

How much IS 80lbs anyway?!!
-vc

2 Comments

  1. Sara said,

    March 8, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Sorry to hear about the XO Saga — I considered one last year for the same reasons, ended up not ordering it partly because I decided what I wanted to use it for wasn’t well matched with its design. Looking forward to hearing about the Eee, I’ve looked into it more recently; curious to know how it works out.

    My laptop, which I’m taking, is a (relatively) huge monster of a Thinkpad — 15″ WS & around 6 lbs. I debated a LOT with myself on whether or not it was worth carting to Africa; I finally decided that buying something new was not cost effective. Also taking anything less would compromise what I intend to use it for (Work: word processing, etc; Play: DVDs, email, music, photo editing/storage), and would just ultimately end up as a headache/frustration anyway.

    However, I definitely DO agree with the idea of staying away from Microsoft. Reliable stability in an OS is a beautiful thing, ha. Both my laptop & desktop are running *nix environments, and I don’t plan to change. For that matter, I’m taking a supply of Edubuntu install CDs with me in hopes of integrating that into my PC work… but that’s the subject of an entirely different blog post. 🙂

  2. Megan said,

    March 10, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Victoria,

    I have somehow stumbled upon your blog and wanted to introduce myself! I think we’ll be meeting soon… I received an invitation last week for science education in Ghana leaving on 7 June. Drop me an email when you get a chance, I hope that we can chat a bit.

    Cheers,

    Megan


