Zinzin Road by Fletcher Knebel pt.II

Did not like this book one little bit.  The writing was mediocre. The characters were one dimensional. The beauty of Africa never really came through.I really didn’t get feel for living in another culture.  What i did find interesting was the question of where do you draw the line between following your beliefs and not meddling in the local politics. I think this group went way over that line many times.

I am still looking for the Peace Corps book that will do for me what Chinua Achebe’s book did. His book transported me to another culture. I want to read a book that will take me into the lives of the people in the community where the volunteer is serving.

So on to Mango Elephants in the Sun by Susana Herrera.

-vc

1 Comment

  1. LOUISE said,

    March 2, 2008 at 4:42 am

    Hi Vivky~

    Sarah is just the begnning of ‘gifts’ from the Universe who is always kind. sometime we have to Inquire deeply ( http://www.thework.com)

    It may seem strange now how PCVs could ossibly become involved in thei HC’ politics….. however…… when you live in a country you love among people you love, you may find how very human you are, no ‘above ‘ that. Like the way you are not judging, just remaning open.

    Remember to look for ‘Monique and the Mango Rains’

    Louise


