Zinzin Road by Fletcher Knebel

I am reading the Zinzin Road set in a fictional West African country at the beginning of the Peace Corps.  It will be interesting to see how the PC has changed since the beginning. I think that they may not put volunteers together like they did in the early days.

I have not read the whole book so I will share another’s review and save my opinion until i am done.

The Booklocker  fine books and fine writing by RPCVs.  Check out some of the other books reviewed as well.

-vc

3 Comments

  1. Kat Ryan said,

    February 24, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    I read this book after my Peace Corps service in Africa, 1969-1971. It resembled in some ways my own experiences. Small small was a favorite saying of mine but we never fell into the WAWA as we loved Ghana.

    You will have a remarkable experience.

  2. Vicky said,

    February 25, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Please tell me more about your experience. Why did you love Ghana?

  3. Kat said,

    May 12, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Sorry for the long delay! I loved the Ghanaian people. They were warm, open and friendly. I knew the market vendors, the aunties who sold food along the road, the chop bar cooks and the women who worked at the tiny shops. Travel was often horrific with all the goats and chickens and people crammed together, but it was always an adventure. The country was beautiful with savanna grass lands where I lived and the rain forests in the south. The first rains of the season were breathtaking and the rain on the tin roof was a favorite sound, even though I couldn’t teach over the din. Ghana was home to me.


