AT LAST!!!

pc.gif

From my Peace Corps Account!

It’s happened at LAST. I have a date when I am leaving.  Thursday evening on the way home from work I checked my cell. My daughter and I had plans for the next day and had kept playing phone tag. There was a voice mail and I listened to it at a stop light. It was my PC PO (Placement Officer). She would be in her office until 5:30. I drove into the very next parking lot and called her right back! There was no way I could wait until 9:00 Friday morning. 

She had a few questions. Do you still want to serve? YES YES AND TRIPLE YES! How are you doing meeting your financial obligations? Fine if all goes as planned. Will you be very disappointed if you are not near a beach? No it would have been icing on the cake as long as I can work in Information Technology. At one point my PO said that “Those college students are going to say ‘Give that woman some valium’. It’s nice you are so excited!” Then she said because I had been so active in church in my youth she had to remind me that the Peace Corps does not allow proselitizing. She was very nice she said many of the most dedicated PCVs (Peace Corps Volunteers) were active in church. I told her I was interested in sharing my IT skills and learning from the culture I would be living in. I didn’t say this to her but I prefer to live my faith rather then push it on someone else.  So after all the questions were answered she said she was nominating me for service in West Africa and I would be leaving on June 7th.

Now you ask the most important next question. WHERE!?  Well in an act I liken to chinese water torture the Peace Corps does not tell you where you are going when the call you to tell you that you are nominated. NO! I have to wait until the packet arrives. AAAAAAUUUUUUUGGGGGHHHHHHHH. I knew this from my co-PC Invitee, Sara, so I did not even ask where. The packet was mailed Friday from DC. Hopefully it will arrive in Bloomfield on Monday or Tuesday at the latest.

I’M GOING TO AFRICA JUNE 7, 2008!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 Comments

  1. Sara said,

    February 10, 2008 at 2:33 am

    I emailed you earlier, but this entry is fun to read. I checked my email archives and I got my phone call on Monday, packet Thurs – so that’s quicker than I originally told you.

    >>I didn’t say this to her but I prefer to live my faith rather then push it on someone else.<<
    I got the same speech re: proselytizing, and had the same thoughts. I very much look forward to meeting you. 🙂
    (And yes I’ve already “decided” your going to Ghana…ha).

  2. Vicky said,

    February 10, 2008 at 11:32 am

    It’s cool we have had this chance to get to know each other. ghana supposed to be a beautiful country! and there will be good company!

  3. RPCV said,

    February 10, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    I think you need to check PCV Rabbi Loraine Heller regarding the religious thing. She was hired as religious professional, assigned a congregation and preached very often.

    You can prostelitize all you care to, it’s no longer up to Peace Corps to say your religion is not allowed.


