Red Sox Tickets

Manny Originally uploaded by Literary Gal

Today I just got my ticket for Saturday, April 19 against Texas. This will be my last time to see the Sox before I leave the country. Boy will I miss the Red Sox. 

I had thought that I might teach baseball to my new neighbors but I don’t know a splitter from a fastball so how am I going to teach anyone THE GREAT AMERICAN PASS TIME?

Will I be able to find Red Sox baseball on short wave radio? Will there be Red Sox fans in Africa when I get there? Will there be Red Sox fans in Africa when I leave? 

-vc

5 Comments

  1. LOUISE said,

    January 30, 2008 at 7:22 am

    I can tell how much you will miss the Sox… on the other hand, here is one more gift.. let them be, put them down, gently, temporarily.. the fact you can’t be in instant knowing about them, but you will know…. in time…. and instead.. be present where you are enjoying their sports……the sports where you are. Who knows,…. you may return to the Sox with a greater appreciation and more balance……

    Imagine havig a Ghanaian neighbor who mourns ‘ause he can’t keep up with his country’s soccer ( called appropriately ‘football’ there) and all he talks bout is his favorite team……and he keeps comparing it to your sports……..

  2. Vicky said,

    January 30, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Imagine having a son-in-law from Ghana, Fiya’s dad, who loved soccer (football). I knew he missed his sport so when he and my daughter were together and came to visit I would talk about soccer with him. He taught me about something he loved. I shared my love of baseball. I got to know him a bit better and we bonded over sports since we both loved sports.

    I need to grieve now over the things I am leaving behind so when I arrive I can be in the moment. I am an open traveler always eager to learn what a new culture has to teach me. One reason I wanted to join the Peace Corps is that I wanted to immerse myself in a culture for an extended period of time. I loved my three month stay in Israel when I was in college.

  3. LOUISE said,

    January 30, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Vicky,

    I know you will do this and the grieving is so healthy now, will make it so much easier. I have such confidence in you and so appreciate your enthusiasm!!

  4. Helen said,

    January 30, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Hey Vicky!
    You know I will be HAPPY to tell you how many games ahead of the Red Sox the Yankees are!!!!! I promise to keep you posted!

  5. Vicky said,

    January 31, 2008 at 6:47 am

    Yes Queen Aveline just like the Yanks were ahead of the Sox all 2007 season!! NOT!

    love your avatar!


