XO Upgrade

Today I set aside the whole morning to upgrade my XO to build 653.  What a simple process it was.   I downloaded the files to a thumb drive. Plugged the drive into the XO. Turned on the XO holding down the keys indicated and the XO did the rest. And it was done in less than an hour.

TAKE THAT MICROSOFT!!!

My photo upload problem is solved.  The crazed cursor problem is solved. And my problem attaching files to email is solved. Computer seems to run a bit faster as well.

Love this little computer and I love sittingon my bed and computing.

Here’s a couple of photos of my XO on it’s pillow  on my bed.

XO Open

XO closed

-vc

2 Comments

  1. LOUISE said,

    January 27, 2008 at 9:32 am

    She looks like a lovely companion… Will she be able to travel wih you?

    How do you feel about being in a place where you may not have access 24/7 ? What do you think about practicing a little now to find the gifts in that?

    Louise who loves a simpler world at times……

  2. Vicky said,

    January 27, 2008 at 10:12 am

    She will go with me. This computer is built for third world countries.

    One of my big oh my moments was when i realized I might not have email access 24/7. I keep in touch with family and friends all over rhe country with email. I have lived hundreds of miles away from friends but still maintained that friendship trough email. so email for me will be the hardest technology for me to leave behind.

    but the computer itself will be a tool for my photography. it will be my journal. a way to make friends with the kids, there are many learning activities on this computer as well as an interview activity with video and voice. and if i am lucky the technology that will be the best for my tech project.

    but yes I am doing some things to prepare for my new living conditions. some nights when i get home from work i don’t turn on the computer. I have been renting a room from a very nice professor. I try to have only 1 Dr. Pepper a week. that is the ideal in practice i sometimes have three a week but that’s down from 1 or 2 a day. I am not buying new clothes or stuff. so yes i am trying to transition to a more simple life. while knowing that when i arrive at my destination I will most likely look back at my one room and call it over abundance.


