It’s Not About Me

That is the best piece of advice I received tonight. The  CTRPCV (CT Returned Peace Corps Volunteers) met tonight in Glastonbury. They graciously allowed me and  Helen to attend.There were volunteers who served in Africa, in South America and in the Carribean. Volunteers who served in the 60s,  70s, 80s, 90s and 00s.

I decided to ask each of them for a  memory and for advice to someone just joining. The woman who served in Seirra Leon said to open my heart to the African people.  The Person who served in the Dominican said everything that is right is wrong and everything that is wrong is right.  May favorite piece of advice was that this is not about me but about helping the people I am living with at what ever place they need help.

I would encourage any of you going to the Peace Corps to find your local RPCV chapter. they are  a great source of information and support. My chapter welcomed me like a new sibling. I learned about a group in Ct that sends books to PCVs. THE CT group raises funds to support projects of current CT PCVs.  and i heard something about an alhoa

2 Comments

  1. LOUISE said,

    January 20, 2008 at 8:43 am

    This is excellent advice for living wherever we are! Taking people where they are, we hope they will do the same to us!

    We are such neonates when we go to live in a foreign country, so dependent on compassionate and understanding people often forgetting they might not have a clue into the culture we arrived from but expecting them to ‘know’ automatically!

    Vicky, you might revisit “The Ugly American” which we all read in th ’60’s . Well, They are still everywhere overseas…..

    Our govt. has the reputation of sending ‘experts’ overseas and before they even step off the plane, they ‘know’ how to fix things….

    Enjoyed meeting you both Friday!

    Louise
    RPCV Sierra Leone

  2. Vicky said,

    January 20, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    Thanks for the readng recomendation. I will put it on my list.
    I loved what you said to me about the hearts of the African people. Talking to you encouraged me. I believe that people wil be open to me if i am open to them and you confirmed that. I can still see the love you have for the people you met 30+ years ago. thanks for welcoming me to the family of peace corps volunteers.


