3 Showers a Week

There is a water shortage in the world. Americans use  way to much.  We use it on ourselves, our lawns, our pets, our cars. According to  Water Partners International

The average American individual uses 100 to 176 gallons of water at home each day. (67)The average African family uses about 5 gallons of water each day. (7)

So to try to conserve water and in preparation for having much les water available to me I have been showering about three times a week. (okay when my favorite author came to the library i did shower even though that day was  not a shower day!)

There has been an interesting result. My skin and my hair are much less dry this winter than in the past.   The natural oils of my skin longer and protect my skin from the dry winter air.  It is said that Napoleon encouraged Josephine not to bathe for up to five days before his return from a trip.

Another benefit is that i have more time in the morning before work. I can sleep later on no shower days or read more of the paper or send an extra morning email or two.

What interests me a lot is my reluctance to share this with you all.  And my desire to  say to you “I’m not dirty, really!”

-vc

3 Comments

  1. Cyndi said,

    January 19, 2008 at 8:27 am

    Hi Vicky,
    I had to comment on this one since I find it so applicable to my own life. I also try to conserve water and so shower every other day instead of every day and I find that I, too, have a reluctance to admit it. There is definitely a sense of shame involved (or at least a strong need to defend myself and say that I, too, am not dirty), especially in my current living situation where two of my roommates are fanatical about showering every morning and often make comments about how “disgusting” they feel on the rare occasions when they don’t shower.

    Of course, the issue of showering less to conserve water then brings into consideration all the interesting (and sometimes strange) ideas that Americans have about cleanliness. But we can save that discussion for another time.

  2. LOUISE said,

    January 19, 2008 at 9:51 am

    >>House #1
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>A 20 room mansion (not including 8 bathrooms) heated by natural gas. Add
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>on a pool (and a pool house) and a separate guest house, all heated by
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>gas. In one month this residence consumes more energy than the average
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>American household does in a year. The average bill for electricity and
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>natural gas runs over $2400. In natural gas alone, this property
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>consumes more than 20 times the national average for an American home.
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>This house is not situated in a Northern or Midwestern “Snow Belt” area.
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>It’s in the South.
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>House #2
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>Designed by an architecture professor at a leading national university.
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>This house incorporates every “Green” feature current home construction
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>can provide. The house is 4,000 square feet (4 bedrooms) and is nestled
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>on a high prairie in the American southwest. A central closet in the
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>house holds geothermal heat-pumps drawing ground water through pipes
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>sunk 300 feet into the ground. The water (usually 67 degrees F.) heats
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>the house in the winter and cools it in the summer. The system uses no
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>fossil fuels such as oil or natural gas and it consumes one-quarter the
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>electricity required for a conventional heating/cooling system.
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>Rainwater from the roof is collected and funneled into a 25,000 gallon
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>underground cistern. Wastewater from showers, sinks and toilets goes
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>into underground purifying! tanks and then into the cistern. The
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>collected water then irrigates the land surrounding the house.
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>Surrounding flowers and shrubs native to the area enable the property to
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>blend into the surrounding rural landscape.
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>~~~~~
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>HOUSE #1 is outside of Nashville , Tennessee ; it is the abode of the
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>”Environmentalist” Al Gore.
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>HOUSE #2 is on a ranch near Crawford , Texas ; it is the residence of
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>the President of the United States , George W. Bush.
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>An “Inconvenient Truth”.

  3. Vicky said,

    January 19, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Yes I do agree that we Americans seem to be a bit obsessed with personal cleanliness. I work in an office; how dirty can I get? Maybe a farmer or a miner or a road constrction worker needs to shower everyday but office workers? I’m not so sure.

    Yes I think when i get to Africa we may discuss levels of cleanliness related to other areas as well. I think my standards may change.

    -vc


