Learning by exploration

Negroponte wants users to  learn about the XO by exploring it. So I have been playing with my new toy for three days and it does not seem so strange to me any longer.  The online documentation is extensive, the online user groups are informative and the members are so helpful.

Of course my first goal was to get online. Good thing i  connected to the open network at my job before i tried at home. i at least knew the networking was working. My home network is a secure network and i couldn’t connect. It kept hanging after i entered the password.  So i surfed the user groups and found a fix. i  was thrilled because it was necessary for me to go to the terminal and install a fix from the command prompt. This is exactly why i wanted this computer a chance to be in on the beginning of what i  believe to be an exciting new technology. A chance to learn linux and get the microsoft monster off my back!

But if this sounds horrifying to you, you are not alone, I think it sounds horrifying to the majority of the US consumers  who purchased the XO through the G1G1 program. I am a techie and I have spent the last 30 years learning by exploring because most libraries don’t invest in education for their techies. However the average American consumer wants to turn on their electronics and have them work with one click.

Negroponte has makes the experts’ most common mistake  – he believes because it’s easy for him it’s easy for everyone.

to be continued

-vc

1 Comment

  1. Ronnie said,

    January 10, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    WOW, Vickie!
    I am so happy to have found your blog. I have submitted my application, been interviewed, am waiting for nomination, and will be 50 this year! AND I’m a Red Sox fan! I was searching Blog sites so that I could start my own blog when I found yours. I’m so excited to have found someone a few steps ahead of me. I’ll certainly keep up with your journey, and try to learn from your experiences too.


