OLPC On Order!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Today I bought the cute little green computer created by One Laptop Per Child. I set my alarm for 5:45 a.m. so I could order the minute it became available at 6:00 a.m. this morning. AND I GOT ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This will be another lesson in patience! They hope they can ship them all by Christmas! oh my! So instead of a birthday present for myself I guess it will be a Christmas present for myself.

I of course want this computer because it was designed for just the conditions I will be living in when I am in Africa. It’s practically indestructible, open source software, loaded with video, audio, networking etc.

I will of course share what I find as I play with this new toy/tool.

If you bought on and live in the Hartford Area please join my Facebook Group OLPC Hartford CT.

-vc

2 Comments

  1. gnuosphere said,

    November 12, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    It doesn’t have any shareware. It is all free software.

    Moving to Africa? I lived there for a few years. Fascinating place.

  2. Vicky said,

    November 12, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    I am joining the Peace Corps in June. Why did you live in Africa?


