Slow 3/4 Time

May 30 2007  – it’s been 6 months since I sent in my application for the Peace Corps

July  14 2007 – it’s been 3 1/2 months since I was nominated to serve in Africa

Sept  2007 – its been  1 1/2 months since I sent in my medical information

Nov. 19, 2007 – I turn 50

June 2008 – Africa working in Information Technology

I am a very linear person. I like to know where I am going, how long it will take me to get there and all the steps in between. This wait has surely been a learning experience for me.  Between my 50th birthday in Granby and June 2008 in Africa there are so many steps. And the worst part is I don’t know half of them.

Language

What language will I speak? I would love to begin learning that language or at least listening to it!

Packing

What will I need what will i want and how much can i take with me.  How much can i purchase there?

Communication

How will I communicate with people back home? The world IS smaller but only if you have internet access where you are living. I won’t own a cell. Too expensive.

I feel like I am doing a waltz when I want to be jitterbugging!

778985.jpg

-vc

