32.5 pairs of shoes

One of three boxes filled with caitlin’s shoesYesterday I cleaned my closets and dressers.

The new place only has one closet double wide but still only one. I had four all to myself here in the apartment. 32.5 pairs of shoes. Does any one person REALLY need 32.5 pairs of shoes and 4 pair of slippers? This is what I am trying to learn when I join the Peace Corps. What do I NEED and what do I WANT and what is outright extravagance? No these are not new questions but they are questions I need to ask myself. And should I feel better that I only have 15 pairs of shoes and slippers after my clean out and that 9 or 10 pairs are going to someone else via Salvation Army? And at this point 5 boxes of clothes are going to someone else same route?

And why after that embarrassing display of over abundance do I still feel the siren call of a fall shopping expedition? Better hide the Lane Bryant charge card!

Thanks Stegoby for a great illustration of my point. Check out Stegoby’s Photostream on flickr

1 Comment

  1. Kathie said,

    September 27, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    Vicky, I’ve enjoyed reading your blog all these months. Far from being a time of slowing down and settling in, many women “our age” are discovering the freedom and strength to follow their dreams… their hopes. It’s a wonderful time in our lives! and my heart goes out to those that, for whatever reason, don’t experience it as such. I am currently rereading “Animal Dreams” by Barbara Kingsolver. Her writing is so good. At one point in the book, Codi’s sister Hallie sends a letter from Nicaragua were she has gone to put her agricultural knowledge to work during their war. Hallie writes at one point ” I don’t expect to see perfection before I die. What keeps you going isn’t some fine destination but just the road you’re on, and the fact that you know how to drive.” Priceless!

    And she also writes ” …the very least you can do in your life is to figure out what you hope for. And the most you can do is live inside that hope. Not admire it from a distance but live right in it, under its roof. What I want is so simple I almost can’t say it: elementary kindness. Enough to eat, enough to go around. The possibility that kids might one day grow up to be neither the destroyers nor the destroyed. That’s about it. Right now I’m living in that hope, running down its hallway and touching the walls on both sides.”

    So Vicky, my wish for you is that you enjoy health and peace along the road that you are on…..for I can certainly picture you, living under the roof of your hope and running down its hallway, touching the walls on both sides (and maybe even leading a cheer along the way). Blessings to you!


