Arrow of God by Chinua Achebe

This man is a beautiful writer. His prose is elegant. Achebe took me to Africa and snuggled me down right in the middle of a tribe.  After reading this book I felt that I had visited africa and met the people. Although many of the thoughts and values were different from my own Achebe presented his characters with such sympathy that I did relate to them.

I also read Things Fall Apart last year because it was recommended on the website of my favorite author – Stewart O’Nan.

On the basis of reading these two books I would recommend anything by Chinua Achebe.

vc

6 Comments

  1. francis said,

    January 10, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    hi !!
    you are right!!!!Achebe is genuis writer and i really like his novels.

    if you are interseted in african literature , try this novel of a Ghanaian writer Ayi Kwei Armah : The beautyful ones are not yet born.
    franci

  2. February 29, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    […] for the Peace Corps book that will do for me what Chinua Achebe’s book did. His book transported me to another culture. I want […]

  3. Julie said,

    March 27, 2008 at 3:22 am

    Yeah, the narrative technique and the proverbs used are quite interesting. Makes you feel as if you are in Igboland. I wonder though if the story reflects what used to happen in Nigeria or is it all just fiction. Where there realyy a God called Ulu and a village called Umuora?

  4. Isaac Oguji said,

    February 4, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    pls I need a list of the proverbs and idioms in arrow of God by Chinua Achebe

  5. Isaac Oguji said,

    February 4, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    you can send them to promisadorgm@gmail.com. thanks


