Bobo-Dioulasso

No I am not going there. it’s my new metaphor for where I might end up.

Thank you SK for the new metaphor of where I will be going. When I was talking to her at the reference desk today I said “I can’t say Kuala Lumpur as the metaphor for where I am going because that is in Malaysia. I need to find an African place to say now.”

So like the good reference librarian that she is – she gets right on it. She goes to Google maps and finds a map of Africa and starts reading names off to me.

“How about Mali” she says

I respond “No not enough syllables”

“Tanzania” she continues “Morrocco, Mauritania” Then “Burkina Faso”

“Yes” I joyfully reply “I love saying Burkino Faso”

“Burkina” she corrects

“Burkina Faso, Burkina Faso” I practice

“Oh how about this” and she points to  Bobo-Dioulasso on the map.

“How do you say that?” i ask.

“You want it all don’t you” she teases

So I did a Google search hoping the pronunciation would show up. Then when it didn’t I tried define: in front of it hoping for a dictionary entry with pronunciation. No luck. So I had to get out of my chair walk 8 steps and get the geographical dictionary. It was there!

Bobo Dyu lasso

burkina-faso-map.jpg

2 Comments

  1. HA said,

    August 8, 2007 at 1:30 pm

    I think I will just call it Bobo for short.

  2. Kara said,

    August 11, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    I did the Peace Corps in Burkina Faso — the capital was what always got me: Ouagadougou! (pronounced Wah-guh-DOO-goo) or Ouaga for short. And yes, everyone in Burkina also says Bobo for short! Good luck with your Peace Corps journey!


