Medical Clearance

Yesterday afternoon I started working on my medical clearance papers. The packet is 3/4 of an inch thick and deals with almost any medical problem, procedure or test I have had in the past 10 years. It took me a good hour to  read and organize everything. I have set up two appointments and have two more to go.

Plus: I will have complete medical and dental coverage while I am in the Peace Corps.
Minus: I may not be near quality medical care.
Minus: I have to have any dental problems fixed before I leave for the Peace Corps.

Plus: I will get a letter saying I have been covered by medical insurance to bring to my next employer.

Plus: I can continue to buy insurance from the Peace Corps for one month after I leave.
Minus: I can only continue to buy insurance from the Peace Corps for one month after i leave.

Minus: The person I counseled with during and after my divorce has disappeared off the face of the earth.

Plus: On an earlier quick review of the paper work I saw my body mass index may be a problem. I have started walking and trying to eat better.

-vc

