Dr. Pepper Day

Today is Dr. Pepper Day. It’s usually Saturday but I will be working at the library tomorrow and I want to be able to enjoy my Dr. Pepper so I am having it today. I look forward to this day like a holiday. Am I teaching myself to value small pleasures by limiting my access to my favorite soda? I hope so because I believe that will be a good skill when I am in Africa.

Dr. Pepper Day also reminds me of how much junk food i/we consume here in the USA. I am reading Barbara Kingslover’s book Animal Vegetable Miracle about their year of living off local foods. I sure am disconnected from the food I eat.  I miss the CSA in Granby. Loved going to pick those fresh veggies and eating them hours off the plant.  I think that will be different in Africa as well.

-vc

