In My Country

In My Country is a story of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission hearings in South Africa. Samuel L. Jackson an American reporter and Juliette Binoche a South African poet covering the hearings for radio, meet and confront the demons of race from opposite sides of the color barrier.  The African  concept of truth and forgiveness is so foreign to most Americans we can hardly understand how this helped heal the country and I am not sure this movie did that either.  What it did do was show one Afrikaners woman who’s eyes were forced open by the commission. She was not part of the cruelty but this movie perfectly illustrates  the saying that “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing”.  

It frustrates me that wherever whites go we create a system of privilege and elitism. That we feel entitled to dominate any culture we encounter. I make a pledge to live as the people I am living with live. And to go with the attitude of true cultural exchange. To appreciate the beauty of the culture I am visiting, to learn the wisdom of the people I am living with and to be humble about my culture.

-vc

