More sure everyday

The meeting with the recruiter today went very well.  My two biggest fears were addressed. I have been worried how my family would get in touch with me if something happening to my mother or any of them. My family will have an emergency contact number to reach me.  And I have been worried about having to live with a host family for two years. Paul, the recruiter at Amherst, said that volunteers live with a host family for the 3 months training but then they are guaranteed a house at their site. I know myself well enough to know that I need my own space even if it’s a grass hut.

As Paul talked about going to the site and doing nothing for 6 months but get to know the people and their needs, about how you and your community are the ones responsible for the project and about a secondary project that’s all your own I became more confident that my skills and experiences make me the person for the job.

When I asked “Do you have something to convince my mom that this is a great idea.” He handed the the family handbook and said all the answers are in here!

I am beginning to know what I don’t want to do. I don’t want to live in a city. I always imagine a small community and a simple lifestyle when I think about volunteering. I don’t want to teach English as a second language. If my new neighbors want to learn English I will be happy to share my language informally with them. I don’t think I really want to teach anything in a formal classroom.  It would be too much like my 9-5 that I am leaving behind.

I have lots to read.

