1person

One person trying to make a difference in the world. One person hoping to volunteer with the Peace Corps. One person being helped at a time. The title of this blog has many different meanings. It’s my blog about applying for the Peace Corps and hopefully about my two years and 3 months as a Peace Corps volunteer.

You probably have an image of me after that paragraph so let me clear that up. My name is Vicky. I am a technology librarian who works at a public library Connecticut. I have two children and one grandchild. I am a baby boomer in my 50th year. My hobby is photography. I love movies, Six Feet Under, reading. Stewart O’Nan is my favorite author of all time. I love to travel; I have been overseas twice. Once to Israel to study for three months in 1978 and the second time to Paris with my youngest daughter in 2004.

Until last fall I thought I had missed my chance to go to the Peace Corps after college. Then I read an article in the Hartford Courant about retirees volunteering for the Peace Corps. Since the fall I have thought about joining the Peace Corps. I have talked with family and friends and researched others’ experiences. Next Tuesday, April 3, I will visit a Peace Corps recruiter in Amherst, MA and take the first step in applying to be a volunteer.

-vc

